Postgraduate Certificate in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education

The Postgraduate Certificate in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (PGCLTHE) replaces the old PGCDPPHE.

It is designed for colleagues in teaching and support roles, with less than 4 years experience of teaching in HE. Participants are usually new to teaching in higher education. It is suitable for those who want to obtain a higher education teaching qualification and achieve Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy (HEA).

This course will equip teachers (or those in various support roles in HE) embarking on careers in HE with the knowledge, skills, professional values, and an appreciation of the demands of the working context of higher education, so that they can become effective, reflective, adaptive and responsible teachers in the provision of higher education in various contexts of practice

The course will begin on 11th September. There are three Level 7 modules on the course and delivery will adopt a cross-campus model. Participants will need to be willing and able to travel between Treforest, Glyntaff, the Atrium and City to maximise exposure to a variety of learning environments and specialist teaching areas.

The delivery dates are as follows:

Module 1
Monday 11th September
Tuesday 12th September
Wednesday 4th October
Thursday 5th October
Tuesday 24th October
Tuesday 12th December

Module 2
Tuesday 9th January
Wednesday 10th January
Wednesday 31st January
Wednesday 14th February
Wednesday 14th March
Wednesday 11th April

Module 3
Wednesday 2nd May
Thursday 3rd May
Wednesday 4th July
Monday 10th September

To register for the course or to contact the team with general enquiries please email pgclthe@southwales.ac.uk